8 Chief Ministers Skip NITI Aayog Assembly Chaired By PM Modi

Because the chairman of NITI Aayog, PM Modi presided over the assembly.

New Delhi:

Eight Chief Ministers are skipping the NITI Aayog Council assembly presided over by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Delhi in the present day. Rajasthan’s Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot has cited well being causes for not attending, and Kerala’s Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan has not given any particular motive for his absence.

Arvind Kejriwal wrote to the PM on Friday, asserting his boycott of the assembly over the Centre’s latest ordinance, and charged that cooperative federalism within the nation was being became a “joke”. The controversial ordinance by the BJP-led Centre successfully cancels a Might 11 Supreme Courtroom order that granted the Delhi authorities govt management over the forms.

Punjab’s Bhagwant Mann has written a word to the Centre saying it isn’t being attentive to Punjab’s pursuits, which is why he’ll boycott the assembly. Within the earlier assembly, in August final yr, the Chief Minister had raised the problems of Rural Growth Fund (RDF), stubble burning, and farmers’ considerations which he says the Centre paid no consideration to. Calling it a mere “picture session”, Mr Mann in his word has stated there isn’t any use in collaborating within the assembly till pending points have been addressed.

Three different outstanding Opposition leaders — Telangana’s Okay Chandrashekar Rao, West Bengal’s Mamata Banerjee and Bihar’s Nitish Kumar — who’ve been making an attempt to sew collectively a grand united Opposition entrance to counter the BJP in subsequent yr’s Lok Sabha elections, are additionally skipping the assembly.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who maintains a calculated distance from each the NDA and the Opposition, was additionally absent from the assembly. In keeping with the Chief Minister’s Workplace, Mr Patnaik didn’t attend the assembly as he has a previous programme.

The BJP stated the lacking Chief Ministers didn’t convey the voice of the individuals to an important planning assembly, the place over 100 points had been listed to be mentioned. NITI Aayog is a big platform to evolve a shared imaginative and prescient of nationwide improvement priorities, sectors and techniques with the energetic involvement of states, it stated, including that it is an vital physique for figuring out your complete policy-framework and the highway map for the event of your complete nation. 

“Eight Chief Ministers in the present day didn’t attend the NITI Aayog assembly. NITI Aayog is essential for the event and planning of the nation. 100 points have been mounted for this assembly, and the Chief Ministers who haven’t come should not bringing the voice of the individuals of their state right here. How far will you go to protest towards Modi?” BJP chief and former Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad stated.

Authorities sources have stated boycotting NITI Aayog Governing Council Conferences by Chief Ministers is the same as boycotting the state’s improvement. Greater than 100 vital points shall be mentioned on the Governing Council Assembly (GCM), and states not being represented will lose out, sources stated.

“Roadmap to be laid down on following points: Viksit [email protected], (ii) Thrust on MSMEs, (iii) Infrastructure and Investments, (iv) Minimising Compliances, (v) Ladies Empowerment, (vi) Well being and Vitamin, (vii) Ability Growth, and (viii) Gati Shakti for space improvement and social infrastructure. Folks of the states whose CMs boycott the assembly will be unable to reap the advantages of discussions and selections on minimising compliances, Gatishakti, fashionable infrastructure, MSMEs, and Ability Growth. There’s a wealthy legacy of motion taken and citizen welfare from the roadmap laid down by earlier GC conferences,” they stated.

Shiv Sena (UBT) chief Sanjay Raut has stated if non-BJP Chief Ministers are boycotting the assembly, it means the Centre isn’t treating them correctly. “Whoever isn’t obeying the Centre, the NITI Aayog isn’t listening to their calls for,” he stated.

PM Modi is chairing the eighth governing council assembly of NITI Aayog on Saturday on the theme of ‘Viksit Bharat @2047: Position of Staff India’ on the new Conference Centre in Pragati Maidan, New Delhi.

Because the chairman of NITI Aayog, PM Modi presided over the assembly. He’ll deliberate on points associated to well being, talent improvement, ladies empowerment and infrastructure improvement, with an goal to make India a developed nation by 2047.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles